Samuel Barber:  Echoes of Ireland  - 8.00 p.m. Tuesday 9th March 2010

Nóta presents a Gala Centenary Concert at the National Concert Hall, Dublin in celebration of the life and work of American Composer Samuel Barber and his connections with Ireland.

This concert, featuring some of Barber’s greatest “Irish” works and the finest Barber performers,  will take place exactly 100 years to the day from the birth-date of Samuel Barber, one of America’s most beloved composers.

 “As one of the most important composers of his generation and as the most frequently performed American composer in Europe and the Americas during the twentieth-century Barber deserves to be honoured worldwide on the centenary of his birth” 

Musicologist Barbara B. Heyman, biographer of Samuel Barber  

About the Event

American International renowned Soprano Roberta Alexander, Award winning Irish-American Baritone Brian Mulligan, Pianist Lilia Boyadjieva and the distinguished RTÉ Vanbrugh String Quartet will perform a unique gala concert at Dublin’s National Concert Hall in celebration of the centenary of the great American composer Samuel Barber and his connections with Ireland. 

This will be an Irish premiere for both Ms Alexander and Mr Mulligan, and promises to be one of the highlights in Ireland’s classical music calendar during 2010. The National Concert Hall audience will have the opportunity to experience some of Barber’s finest works including The Hermit Songs (based on texts by medieval Irish monks) and the powerful setting of Matthew Arnold’s poem Dover Beach for baritone and string quartet.  The RTÉ Vanbrugh String Quartet will also perform the original version of Barber’s “trademark work” – the haunting and intensely lyrical Adagio for Strings, one of the most poignant and popular pieces of music of the classical genre. 


Roberta Alexander


Brian Mulligan

 (photo: Robert Workman, ENO)


Lilia Boyadjieva


RTÉ Vanbrugh Quartet

(Photo: © RTÉ)


Preconcert Talk: 6.30 p.m.

Barber's Gift for Vocal Composition

by Barbara B. Heyman (New York), biographer of Samuel Barber


Concert Programme: 8.00 p.m.

Three Songs Op. 2 – Brian Mulligan (Baritone), Lilia Boyadjieva (Piano)

  • The Daisies
  • With Rue My Heart Is Laden
  • Bessie Bobtail


Four Songs, Op. 13 – Roberta Alexander (Soprano), Lilia Boyadjieva (Piano)

  • A Nun Takes The Veil
  • The Secrets of The Old
  • Sure On This Shining Night
  • Nocturne


Three Songs, Op. 10 – Brian Mulligan (Baritone), Lilia Boyadjieva (Piano)

  • Rain Has Fallen
  • Sleep Now
  • I Hear An Army


Dover Beach, Op. 3 – Brian Mulligan (Baritone), RTÉ Vanbrugh String Quartet

------- Interval -------

String Quartet No 1, Op.11 - RTÉ Vanbrugh Quartet 

  1. Molto Allegro e Appassionato
  2. Adagio
  3. Molto Adagio-Presto


Hermit Songs, Op.29 - Roberta Alexander (Soprano), Lilia Boyadjieva (Piano)  

  • At Saint Patrick’s Purgatory
  • Church Bell At Night
  • St. Ita’s Vision
  • The Heavenly Banquet
  • The Crucifixion
  • Sea-Snatch
  • Promiscuity
  • The Monk Ant His Cat
  • The Praises Of God
  • The Desire For Hermitage


Three Songs, Op. 45  – Brian Mulligan (Baritone), Lilia Boyadjieva (Piano)

  • Now Have I Fed And Eaten Up The Rose
  • A Green Lowland Of Pianos
  • O Boundless, Boundless Evening
© 2007 - 2014 Nó